[Chapter : 1] Morocco at a glance

[ Part : 1 BEFORE ]

Travelling! Probably the most ‘desired and done’ act ever. It is something that initiated for the basic fulfillment of hunger, thirst and shelter of the early man. Nomads or ‘Banjaras’ have travelled all their lives and never settled at one place, the community carries around tents & wanders from place to place – hunting, gathering, shepherding or herding their cattle and travelling, it has been their life style. Travelling is not only done for the sake of relaxation or holiday from work and routine but it has also become a multiple career choice option and a way of life.

So, I was traveling to another country – Morocco. I had been on a trip to another country, once before, but this time I was going to a country in a different continent. In fact, the second largest continent – Africa. Also this time I was going alone! Without family, in a totally foreign land and among strangers, on this incredible journey, which was going to teach me so much. For me it was a project, a challenge and the first milestone on my journey towards my dreams and goals.

I selected this country because I wanted to know more about their rich Muslim culture, heritage and life style. Moreover, it was a country I knew very less about. The fact of it not being a mainstream choice for a country to travel to, attracted me even more and seemed the best fit choice for the explore/discover project. In fact, it had also been a shoot location for several Bollywood and even Hollywood films and serials, that was all the more reason to go there.

IMG_20180117_094029_625

[ Part : 2 DURING and AFTER ]

The one thing I realized while traveling and staying in a few cities of Morocco – it might have been different in the past but as it is developing, it is being open to different ideas, cultures and life styles, like most other countries. People are tolerant and welcoming. It has notable influences of the European culture (especially French and Spanish) as it is a North African country just below the European continent. It takes about 1 to 2 hours of a ferry ride from Tangier (Northern city of Morocco) to the southern cities of Spain through the Strait of Gibraltar, it is hardly 30-40 kilometers away.


Spain (coast) seen from Morocco’s north-most point at Parc Perdicaris.


It has been a home to different – food types and architecture. Of course, it has it’s own magnificent Muslim culture. But I observed that rigidity and orthodox is not heavily prevalent in the cities that are growing and urbanizing. However, crime threat (for crimes like: pick-pocketing, purse-snatching, harassment of woman) is greater in urban tourist areas.

Nevertheless, the main lesson I learnt as a solo traveller, in Morocco

(or for that matter in any other place) is that :

  • Be very careful, responsible and aware about your surroundings, destination and mode of travel. Take care of yourself and your belongings while enjoying your journey.
  • Ask questions, be curious and keep regular and forthright follow ups.

The only image I had before actually being there was a lady flaunting her long black hair under a dry tree in the desert, advertising the expensive Moroccan Argan oil. Besides this, I had seen glimpses of Morocco, in the alleyway chasing scenes or dance sequences of a few films. I had never thought i would go there, but I am so grateful I got to.

IMG_20171212_163658_421

However, every place has it’s own story and unique aura which makes it special. This was after all Morocco.

A country with deserts, beaches, canyons, mountains – with slopes that gradually transition into plateaus and valleys.

For the project we were supposed to discovering places, take pictures and write about them. Basically document the whole experience there. We had different themes for each day like: Food, Religion,NGO, etc. which we had to discover, by going to places associated to them.

I got to stay in two very interesting cities of Morocco, for this project:

My first city was Tangier, in the north of Morocco and the African continent. It had been an international hub for artists, traders and businessmen in the past. Coincidentally, it was the birthplace of the traveller and explorer Ibn Batuta, about whom we have been learning in our history classes. This is the same Tangier, where Santiago realizes his beginner’s luck and his Personal legend and does not give upon on his goals in Paulo Coehlo’s book – The Alchemist. There were quite a few omens of how significant and remarkable this journey was going to be for me, all my life.

IMG_6207

The second half of my journey, was in a city called – Agadir, located on the southern Atlantic coast of Morocco, in the foothills of Atlas mountains. This city was rebuilt from scratch after it was totally ruined by an earthquake. The residents of the city restored their culture and faith, like it was never shaken. The hilltop kasbah of Agadir oufella’s original old wall foundation, remained intact even after the earthquake. Even though it was a new and urbanizing city overall, the people were still as religious and compassionate. The city is popular for it’s beaches and commercial port. It made me realize that: Anything can rise back to glory, prosperity and more strength even after total/severe damage.

IMG_6971

The air in Morocco is as fresh as the first sip of refreshing Moroccan mint tea. Going there and staying in both these cities was a whole new experience, very overwhelming as it was my first solo travel. Meeting people who had different mother tongues, different lifestyles and culture and stories about their own countries…I could see myself evolve into a better human being by adapting, being compassionate and respectful throughout the span of this trip.

IMG_6284.JPG

Come along as I take you for the journey and experience of my first solo trip, of each feeling, in each place, of each city I stayed and travelled to.

Write up & Photographs by – STUTIE SUTHAR

Leave a comment